Where's the Passion?

As I look around at the worship today I see a lot of people just not trying. I am not only talking about singing and clapping with the music on Sunday. I mean our daily walk with Christ. Most people who call themselves followers of The Most High God, just don’t care. This wave of apathy is taking over the church. I found myself almost appalled this weekend as I sat in a packed church sanctuary listening to the front man from a very well known Christian band talk about the Compassion Ministries. The thing that bothered me was not real Christians helping those in need, it was the teensomething girl sitting behind me. She could not wait till he got off the stage so his band could come on and play her favorite song that she heard fifteen times on the radio on her way to the concert.  She had no heart or compassion for what he was talking about.  I wanted to turn around and ask her father to explain what it means to have the heart of God. What can we do to break this? Oh God, I beg you to return the passion that burned in us when we first came to you.

This is our calling, to love Him above all else.

So why are we falling short of this goal.

It’s not too hard to rest your soul in His arms,

And let Him heal your harms.

But when it comes to laying down the remote we just can’t cope.

“You mean He is going to get in the way of my day?

He doesn’t want me to focus on this car or that bar or getting the girl?

I gave Him my time on Sunday.

You know, that hour between breakfast and football.

Are you trying to tell me He wants it all?”

Yes my friend.

That is His desire, to take us to a higher level of love.

To give Him our lives, that He can revive something in us!

Bring back something in us.

Something that is missing today.

Something that is dead.

This apathy, we must cut off at the head.

Yet we keep it well fed, and most don’t even know.

While it sucks at their soul real slow,

And changes them from what they are meant to be.

Why can’t we see…

But don’t look to me for all the answers.

Cause I’m still searching for them myself.

But i see that this apathy is eating us like a cancer.

So maybe you should pull that dusty old book off the shelf.

It is full of Love and full of Truth.

And in here I know there is a plan that is fool-proof.

And that is just what we need.

So I keep looking for that seed.

That glimmer of Him that we can see.

His spark to light the fire

the fire of passion under the feet of this body

I am D. O. A.

I am digging for the truth

And loving Him every step of the way

Will you join me?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Ronni says:

    YOU are incredible my friend. Thank you for writing this.

    Like

  2. uriah2113 says:

    Thank You.
    D. O. A.

    Like

  3. Micah says:

    Pretty sure I was going to intervene a more direct route with the “tweensomething” behind us. Love it!

    Like

Leave a comment