I Wait

I scream to you,

You do not scream back.

I make noise with my hands and feet,

No noise is returned.

I dance to you with all that I have,

But you do not dance with me.

When I finally collapse,

Cannot move and can only lay in silence,

Your voice can be heard.

It is small and quiet,

Forcing me to focus myself solely on You

in order to hear it completely.

It is then that i realize.

My noise did not bring You here,

My screaming did not call You.

My dancing did not beckon You

But you took my voice,

So I would have to listen.

Took my strength,

So I would have to stay still.

For You are not in the winds,

And You are not in the earthquakes

And you are not in the fires.

But when all those have gone and are no more

The silence is You.

The peace is You

The assurance is You

And You are forever.

So now I wait for the winds to subside.

I wait for the ground to stop shaking.

I wait for the fires to burn out.

I wait for you…

This is one of my older writings. I need to remind myself sometimes that Worship is not about the singing or dancing. It is not about the band or even the music. It is all about the Lord God of the universe. I forget sometimes that worshiping God should be in everything that I do. Not just on Sundays and Wednesdays when I join everyone at the church building for corporate worship. But also when I am at work, when I am playing with my wonderful nephews and every other part of my life. i have started a personal study on the life of David. I have come to find that David understood this very well. No matter what happened, he was always focused on God. In the face of a giant or even an army twice the size of his, David’s eyes were always focused on God. I pray that we can all get to the point where even in the face of our darkest fears we can still worship God and allow Him to work through and in our lives.

I am D.O.A.

I am living my life as a Social Hazard

I am beginning to focus on God always

Will you join me?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Micah says:

    Read this poem today, and reminded me of your post..

    I was regretting the past
    and fearing the future.
    Suddenly my Lord was speaking:
    “My name is I AM”
    He paused.
    I waited. He continued,
    “When you live in the past
    with its mistakes and regrets,
    it is hard. I am not there.
    My name is not I WAS.
    When you live in the future,
    with its problems and fears,
    it is hard. I am not there.
    My name is not I WILL BE.
    When you live in this moment
    it is not hard. I am here,
    My name is I AM.”

    -Helen Mallicoat

    Like

  2. D.O.A. says:

    Very beautiful, and very true. Thank you for sharing what God has shared with you.

    Like

Leave a comment